A bit of a Boozy Trifle, The Kooky Way

Trifle Pudding

  • Servings: 4-6
  • Time: 60mins plus chilling time
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Trifle Pudding

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I was spending the day with a friend and her family (who are all, incidentally, foodies) and wanted to take along something with a “wow” factor.

I was playing around with various ideas in my head when it suddenly struck me to make trifle.

Must confess that making something so indulgent gave me vicarious pleasure as it is not something I would do for myself.

I planned how I would make the pudding in my mind and deliberately avoiding looking up recipes on the internet as I wanted to make it with what I had or could get hold of rather than stress over what I could not (if that makes sense!).

Trifle pudding is dead simple. Layers of sponge cake, fruit and jelly, custard and cream and you have the most sinful, rich, crowd friendly and popular dessert.

the photo above does no justice to how tremendously tasty this utterly easy trifle pudding turned out to be

I soaked the sponge cake in some port wine and orange juice. Alcohol is optional; as I was making for an adult crowd I decided to include it.

I also added a layer of crushed digestive biscuits for some crunchy texture; again, this is optional.

The following is more of a “how to”, or rather, how I made the trifle. You can adapt the recipe to your personal preference and convenience in terms of the ingredients you use:

type of fruits (fresh or canned)

custard (instant or prepared or homemade)

cream (double, whipped, from a can)

sponge cake (plain, vanilla, flavoured, ready or homemade)

Ingredients

600 Grams sponge cake

160 Grams jelly powder/crystals

400 Grams mixed fruits/canned fruit cocktail

750 Ml custard (pouring consistency)

400 ML fresh whipped or thick cream

4-6 Tablespoons port wine

1-2 Tablespoons orange juice

15-20 Digestive biscuits

15-20 Almonds

Method

  1. Boil the almonds in a cup  of water for 5 minutes.
  2. Let them cool down completely, drain out the water, skin and finely slice them. Set aside.
  3. Next, you need to prepare the fruits. I used a can of mixed fruit cocktail which I drained. If you are using fresh fruits, use a combination of soft, ripe ones and chop them finely. A mix of apple, banana, papaya, pear, peach, pineapple and any type of berry would work well.
  4. Now, prepare the jelly layer. For this, make the jelly according to instructions on the packet. I used raspberry and strawberry flavours.
  5. Add the chopped fruits to the liquid jelly and refrigerate for a couple of hours till it is done (wobbly yet firm).
  6. Once the jelly is set, you are ready to layer the trifle.
  7. Take the sponge cake and cut it into pieces. Place the pieces in a deep pudding bowl or casserole.
  8. Pour a mixture of port wine and orange juice over the sponge pieces. If you are not using alcohol for soaking, you will have to increase the quantity of juice accordingly.
  9. Next, break up the fruit jelly and make a layer of it over the sponge.
  10. Coarsely crush the digestive biscuits and scatter them over the jelly layer.
  11. Pour the prepared custard over the digestive biscuit layer.
  12. For the final layer, pour/spread/nozzle the cream so that it covers the surface completely.
  13. Lastly, scatter the sliced almonds across the top.
  14. Cover and refrigerate the pudding for 4 to 5 hours before serving.

Note:

  1. There is no added sugar in this pudding except in the custard. Please make sure that the custard you use is sweet enough; you don’t want it overtly sweet but just right.

2 thoughts on “A bit of a Boozy Trifle, The Kooky Way”

Leave a Reply

