Greek Style Salad

Greek Style Salad

  • Servings: 1
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Greek Style Salad

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Here’s another incredibly quick and simple salad that can be assembled in very little time.

The reason I have inserted the word ‘style’ in the title (as opposed to simple Greek Salad) is because I have added iceberg lettuce which is not part of the traditional recipe.

Surprisingly, iceberg lettuce has plenty of health benefits so I don’t mind veering from the authentic for some additional nutrition. Also, since I was having this as a main meal salad, I needed something to bulk it up a bit without making the salad too heavy.

cooling, light and easy summer salad

A couple of points on the ingredients… You can adjust the amount of Feta cheese according to personal taste. The quantity I have given is what I weighed and added to make sure that I didn’t go overboard with it (a moment on the lips, lifetime on the hips and all that!).

As for the onions, I used them “as is” but if you find raw onions too sharp, you can douse them in some vinegar for about 30 minutes before squeezing out all moisture and adding to the salad.

Talking of vinegar, I don’t have any red wine vinegar (traditionally added) so used cider vinegar instead and it tasted just as good. I wouldn’t suggest using plain white vinegar though.

Ingredients

1 Small head iceberg lettuce

1 Medium size cucumber

2 Red onions

2-3 Ripe tomato (or 10-12 cherry tomato)

1 Green pepper

10-15 pitted, black, olives

70 Grams Feta cheese

2 Tablespoon red wine OR cider vinegar

Juice of 1 lime or lemon

1 Tablespoon olive oil

1 Teaspoon dry oregano OR 1 Tablespoon fresh oregano

2-3 Cloves garlic

Salt to taste

Method

  1. First prepare the dressing.
  2. Peel and crush the garlic.
  3. In a bowl (or a jar), mix together the olive oil, lemon juice, vinegar, crushed garlic, oregano and salt to taste. Keep aside.
  4. Wash, dry and coarsely chop the lettuce.
  5. Peel, wash and finely slice the onion in half moon shape. Separate the sliced rings.
  6. Wash and slice the cucumber in half moon shape to match the onions.
  7. Wash and dice the tomato. (If using cherry tomato, wash and slice in half.)
  8. Wash, de-core, de-seed and chop the green pepper.
  9. Add the lettuce, onions, cucumber, tomato, green pepper, pitted olives and crumbled feta to a large salad or mixing bowl.
  10. Toss all the ingredients thoroughly.
  11. Pour the salad dressing and, once again, toss well.
  12. Chill for a couple of hours before serving.

4 thoughts on “Greek Style Salad”

  1. There is a lovely Indian restaurant near my office. I love the food, but my tummy just can’t handle it. I love spicy food, but it does not love me! [I mean spicy differently than hot.]
    However, I enjoy learning all the new-to-me things on your blog. 🙂

    Now to get that instant alcohol approved here. LOL.

  2. Oh, to die for! I love Greek salad. Ummm it would be good right now– and the wine. Can’t sleep, so why not. Oh, but the store is not open at this hour… and I don’t have the ingredients. 🙂

    1. Hahaha – night owl Teagan!

      I recently read (on NPR I think) about instant alcohol soon to be launched in the market. You add water to the powder of the drink of your choice. Sounds like something like that would come in handy for times like this ;-).

      I, too, love Greek salad. We have some common food tastes. Now I just need to get you to try some Indian ;-).

Leave a Reply

