Fritters of Leftover Couscous

Fritters of Leftover Couscous

  • Servings: 1
  • Time: 20mins
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Fritters of Leftover Couscous

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Okay, so I was in two minds whether to write this post or not. I mean, this is not the most attractive photo of fritters you have seen and a food blog is supposed to be all about drool worthy images.

But it is not often that I find a leftover recipe as delicious (if not more so) than the original.

With ever escalating rise in food prices, throwing away leftovers is something I really try to avoid. Fortunately, most times, I manage to cook enough for one serving but at times, I end up with a bit more.

This was the case when I had made couscous with avocado and chickpea the other day.

One of my favourite food writer is the (in my opinion, at least) very underrated Lyndsey Bareham whose recipes almost always work. Several years back, when she had a column in the UK’s Evening Standard, I had read a recipe of hers for leftover pasta. From what I recall, you mix the pasta (and any sauce or vegetables it is paired with) with some cheese and egg, bung it in a loaf tin and bake it. Once cooked, take it out of the loaf tin, slice and serve.

This recipe has been sitting subconsciously at the back of my mind ever since although I have never had the opportunity to try it.

For today’s fritter recipe, I have adapted Lyndsey’s method, the difference being that instead of making a baked dish out of the leftover, I turned them into fritters.

The following is using leftover couscous but the basic principle (any leftovers mixed with egg and cheese) can work with the likes of rice, pasta, couscous, quinoa or an other grain/cereal.

It is also adaptable. For instance, you can add more vegetables or meat or lentils if the leftover falls a bit short. In my case, I added a small avocado and half cup of boiled chickpeas to stretch the quantity.

scrumptious with tomato ketchup, mustard or hot sauce

Ingredients

1.5 Cups leftover couscous

1/2 Cup boiled chickpeas

1 Small ripe avocado, mashed

1 Egg, lightly beaten

1 Tablespoon grated Cheddar

A pinch of salt

1 Teaspoon olive oil

Method

  1. Combine all the ingredients (except the oil) in a mixing bowl.
  2. Heat a non-stick frying pan.
  3. Add the oil and swirl it around so that the base of the pan is fully coated.
  4. When hot, lower the heat and add a spoonful of the couscous-egg-cheese mix and pat it down with the back of the spoon.
  5. Do the same with the rest of the mixture. Don’t overcrowd he pan.
  6. Cover and cook on low heat for about 8 to 10 minutes.
  7. Uncover, gently flip over the fritters and cook the other side for about 7 to 8 minutes.
  8. Serve hot.

4 thoughts on “Fritters of Leftover Couscous”

    1. Aawww. thank you Teagan.

      I was seriously split between aesthetics and honesty.

      In the end, I reckoned that there may be others like me out there wondering how to make use of leftovers.

Leave a Reply

