Salmon Fishcake With Oats & Quinoa

Salmon Fishcake With Oats & Quinoa

  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Salmon Fishcake With Oats & Quinoa

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I love all sorts of seafood and considering the fact that I live near a sea, it is kind of ironic that it has taken three months of blogging for fish to finely make an appearance on Kooky Cookyng.

The reality is that it is really difficult to find good quality seafood where I live and so I am not able to eat it as often as I would like to.

I have finally resorted to buying canned tuna and salmon in order to incorporate fish in my diet. So you can expect more fishy recipes in the future.

Salmon Fishcake With Oats & Quinoa UncookedToday’s salmon fishcake were made using John West pink salmon.

to give them a healthy twist, I replaced mashed potato with oats and quinoa

I also decided to incorporate some vegetables to up the nutritional value.

The fishcake were finally dusted in semolina as I didn’t have breadcrumbs.

Since I was also out of tartar sauce, I had these with some Colemans mustard and sriracha hot chili sauce (as can be seen in the photo above). Maybe a bit of an odd partnership but it totally worked.

You can also serve some steamed vegetables on the side if you like.

Ingredients

200 Grams cooked, deboned flesh of salmon

1/2 Cup quinoa

3 Tablespoons quick cooking oats

1 Egg

2 Onions

1 Head garlic

1 Yellow pepper

1/2 Cup peas

2-3 Red chilli (optional)

1  + 1 Teaspoon olive oil

Salt to taste

Semolina or breadcrumb for dusting

Method

  1. Make sure that the salmon flesh doesn’t have any bones.
  2. Cook the quinoa according to instructions on the packet. Cool and set aside
  3. While the quinoa is cooking, peel, wash and finely chop the onion.
  4. Peel and slice the garlic.
  5. Wash, de-core and de-seed the yellow pepper. Chop it finely.
  6. Wash the green peas.
  7. Wash and slice the chilli (if using).
  8. Heat one teaspoon of oil in a frying pan. Add the chopped onion, chilli (if using) and garlic. Cover and cook for about 5 minutes.
  9. Uncover, throw in the yellow pepper and peas. Cover and cook for further 5 t o7 minutes till both are soft.
  10. Let this vegetable mixture cool down.
  11. Beat the egg.
  12. In a mixing bowl, combine the salmon, cooked quinoa, cooked vegetables, beaten egg and oats. You can use your hand or a spoon. I find it easier to mix with my hand since it gives me an idea as to whether the mixture is stiff enough to form balls.
  13. If you find that the mixture is too moist, add some more oats.
  14. Shape the cakes according to the size you like.
  15. Refrigerate them for a couple of hours. This will allow for the oats to absorb any excess moisture and for the fishcake to firm up a bit.
  16. When you are ready to cook them, dust them in semolina or breadcrumb.
  17. Heat one teaspoon of olive oil in a frying pan, making sure that it is spread across the entire surface of the pan.
  18. When the oil is hot, gently place the cakes. Be careful that they don’t touch each other.
  19. Lower the heat and let them cook for about 20 minutes.
  20. Flip them over, again with gentle hands. I find a table knife better for this task than a spatula.
  21. Cook the other side for 20 to 25 minutes.
  22. Serve hot with wedges of lime/lemon and sauce of your choice.

6 thoughts on “Salmon Fishcake With Oats & Quinoa”

  1. Hello! I tried out this recipe this evening! I was very tempted when I saw that I could finally use my canned fishes. I didn’t have salmon, I had to replace it with mackerel and sardines, and I had to replace the quinoa with couscous, but the end result was quite good! 🙂 I was so afraid it would disintegrate or some similar disaster, but no, I had to pat myself on the back that it turned out so great! Thank you very much for the recipe! Most of your recipes are very healthy, I really like the sound of them, so I may try out a few more! 🙂

    1. SnowFlake, thank you for trying one of my kooky recipes :-).

      Well done, am really pleased that your version of the fishcake turned out well.

      You are right. Salmon can be replaced by any other variety of canned fish. And couscous is such a great idea that I am going to try it myself the next time :-).

      Hope you enjoy exploring more of my kooky recipes. And if you have any ingredient lying around that you are not sure how to use, let me know. I will try and concoct something for you.

      1. Great. Look forward to your feedback. And yes, the carrot-semolina pudding was polished off within no time so for those with a sweet tooth, highly recommended :-).

Leave a Reply

