Healthy Maggi Noodles with Vegetables

Healthy Maggi Noodles with Vegetables

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Not sure whether Maggi is as polarising as Marmite. I have a friend who leads a totally unhealthy lifestyle, can eat a proverbial horse and thrives on junk food, yet he will not touch Maggi with a barge pole. Give him the choice between a bowl of Maggi and starvation and he would rather starve!

Maggi NoodlesIn that context, a supposedly healthy food blog shouldn’t feature Maggi noodles I guess. So I don’t know whether “healthy Maggi noodles” is an oxymoron but this noodle recipe has to be one of my best guilty pleasures, naughty but nice.

The past few days have been very busy for me with something or other keeping me away from home. These noodles were cooked on the day I had travelled some 250 kilometers to attend a wedding. By the time I got home, was thoroughly exhausted. As my mum rightly pointed out over Skype, the sensible thing would have been to order in a pizza for dinner. I guess subconsciously, in spite of losing so much weight, I keep thinking that I am fat and so pizza doesn’t figure in my thought process although it is one of my most favourite foods. I mean if someone asks me what I would like as my last meal, it would have to be a loaded pizza.

But that’s another story (!) so let’s get back to these super easy, super quick and super yummy noodles.

based on my previous experience with Maggi noodles, I find that this is the vegetable combination which works best

A cake of Maggi is 70 grams so if you are feeding more people or feeling very hungry, adjust the quantity accordingly. The following is for one mealtime bowl.

Ingredients

1.5 Cake Maggi Noodles

100 Grams boiled sweetcorn kernels

1 Large Onion

2 Tomato

1 Green Pepper

1 Large carrot

2 Hot chillies (red or green)

1 Small bunch spring onion

1 Tablespoon grated cheese

1 Tablespoon olive oil

Salt to taste

2 Sachets Maggi taste-maker (comes with the noodles)

Method

  1. Peel, wash and chop the onion.
  2. Wash and dice the tomato.
  3. Wash and slice the chillies.
  4. Wash, de-core, de-seed and chop the capsicum.
  5. Wash and coarsely grate the carrot.
  6. Wash and slice the spring onion. Divide it in two portions.
  7. Heat oil in a saucepan.
  8. Add the chopped onion, one portion of spring onion, tomato, capsicum and chilli.
  9. Add a pinch of salt, mix well, cover and cook on low heat for 10 minutes.
  10. Uncover, add water (quantity according to instructions on the packet), noodles, sweetcorn, grated carrots and taste-maker.
  11. Mix everything together, bring to boil, lower heat, cover and cook for 3 to 4 minutes.
  12. Stir in the cheese.
  13. Garnish with the remaining portion of chopped spring onion.
  14. Serve piping hot.

 

3 thoughts on “Healthy Maggi Noodles with Vegetables”

    1. Teagan thank you for your comment.

      I first came across the Maggi brand when I had gone to Hong Kong and Singapore.

      Maggi noddles is an iconic food item in India and across many Asian countries.

      These are 2 minute instant noodles which are loved across age groups and provide instant gratification to kids returning from school, as tea-time snack, for those who have no culinary skills, bachelors, singletons… you get the picture!

      In the UK, Maggi noodles are widely available in Asian grocery stores.

      I am sure that if Nestle was to publish a book of Maggi memoirs, it would map the culinary cultural shift in India in the last 30-odd years.

Leave a Reply

