Herby Corn Grits with Chickpea & Courgette

Herby Corn Grits with Chickpea & Courgette

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Till recently, I didn’t understand the meaning of the word ‘perfect‘. As far as I was concerned, it was one of those vague, nebulous and subjective terms  (‘ideal’ and ‘normal’ being bedfellows) with little meaning.

All that changed when I cooked these corn grits (corn dalia); they finally helped me understand this word which has eluded my grasp till now.

So here’s the story of my discovery… It had been one of those crazily busy days where all I had was a morning cup of tea. While enjoying a glass of wine in the evening, it suddenly dawned on me that I had not eaten all day (doh!).

Lucky for me that I had cooked these corn grits which proved to be “perfect” under these given circumstances as they contain all the necessary elements required in our daily diet: carbohydrate (grits), protein (chickpea), calcium (cheese), seeds, vegetables, herbs and good fat (olive oil). On top of that, they provide you with your total share of 5 A Day in one meal (thanks to chickpea, courgette, tomato, onion and red pepper).

in one fell swoop, I had managed to feed my body a nutritionally balanced dinner

Perfect for me but may not be the case if you have had a carb or protein rich lunch! See what I mean?!

My new state of enlightenment tells me that when someone says that something is perfect, that only they can understand what that ‘perfect’ or ‘perfection’ means and that it may be perfect for them but imperfect for another. It is like their own little secret which cannot or does not have to be fathomed by others!

So here’s my kooky recipe for “perfect” corn grits.

Ingredients

1/2 Cup corn grits

1 Cup boiled chickpeas

1 Courgette

1 Red pepper

2 Tomatoes

1 Large onion

3-4 Cloves of garlic

2 Red chillies

1 Cup of basil, coriander and parsley leaves

1 Tablespoon sharp, tangy cheese

1 Tablespoon seeds of your choice (I used sunflower and pumpkin)

1 Tablespoon olive oil

Salt to taste

Seasoning of your choice (I had used Taste #5 Umami Paste Laura Santini, the Mediterranean type)

Method

  1. Peel, wash and chop the onion.
  2. Wash and dice the tomato.
  3. Wash and slice the red chilli.
  4. Wash and cut the courgette into large chunks.
  5. Wash and chop the red pepper.
  6. Peel and crush the garlic.
  7. Grate the cheese.
  8. Wash and chop the basil, parsley and coriander leaves.
  9. Toast the seeds till they turn a shade or two darker.
  10. Add the onion, garlic, tomato, chilli and red pepper to a saucepan along with the olive oil and a pinch of salt. Mix well.
  11. Place the saucepan on minimum heat, cover and let the vegetables cook for 10 minutes.
  12. Uncover, add the corn grits, courgette and chickpeas along with 1 cup of water and seasoning. Mix well, cover and cook for 10 to 15 minutes till the grits are cooked.
  13. Remove the lid and add the chopped herbs and grated cheese.
  14. Cover and cook for 5 minutes.
  15. Take the saucepan off the heat and let it sit for 5 minutes.
  16. Sprinkle with toasted seeds and serve.

Herby Corn Grits

Leave a Reply

