Fat Free Pumpkin Soup

Pumpkin Soup

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Fatima's Pumpkin SoupI have to thank my friend Fatima for today’s soup recipe. She sent me the cutest soup photograph ever (right) and wrote, “The pumpkins that don’t go to the Halloween ball end up in my plate as soup! This is a great dinner on a cold winter’s night.  Its healthy too”.

Just the inspiration I needed, specially since I have not made soup for a while.

Boiled Pumpkin, Carrot & Lentil for Pumpkin SoupI have followed Fatima’s recipe except for a couple of digressions.

I didn’t have the split red lentils (masoor dal) which she used so added whole lentils instead.

Fatima also included spring onion which I totally forgot about.

In case you are wondering about the difference in colour between the two soups, I think it may be down to the fact that I didn’t peel my pumpkin.

The soup tastes quite meaty (apologies to my vegetarian readers) and full-bodied (for wont of a better term).

Fatima is Goan and she suggests that you can “pour some olive oil over if you like – that’s the Portuguese style and adds to the taste.” This is what I did (you can see my inartistic attempt at drizzling some of the oil in the photo on the top!) and it is, indeed, quite nice. But of course, if you would like a fat free soup, skip this step and it will taste just as good.

Fatima’s email has provided me with just the impetus I needed to resume my souping exercise so expect to see a couple more soup recipes in the forthcoming posts :-).

Ingredients

250 Grams pumpkin

1 Large carrot

2 Tablespoons red lentils

Salt to taste

Olive oil to drizzle on top (optional)

Method

  1. Peel, wash and cube the pumpkin.
  2. Wash and chop the carrot.
  3. Wash the lentil.
  4. Put the above three ingredients in a soup pot or equivalent and add two cups of water.
  5. Add salt to taste and mix well.
  6. Cover and put on high heat. Once it starts boiling, lower the heat and simmer for about 20 to 25 minutes till the vegetables and lentil are soft and mushy.
  7. Now take the pot off the heat and let it cool down completely.
  8. Strain the vegetables and lentil, reserving the cooking liquor.
  9. Puree the strained vegetables and lentil and add this puree back to the cooking liquor.
  10. Mix well and simmer for about 15 minutes.
  11. Pour the soup into a bowl, drizzle some olive oil (if using) and serve hot.

 

2 thoughts on “Fat Free Pumpkin Soup”

Leave a Reply

