Marmite Spaghetti, The Kooky Way

Marmite Spaghetti, The Kooky Way

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

“First, I would like to thank my new blogger friend Teagan of Teagan’s Books for inspiring me to get into the kitchen for Nigella’s Spaghetti with Marmite. On her blog, Teagan has started Three Ingredients Serial which she describes as “a sort of culinary mystery”. Each new episode features three ingredients sent in by her readers. The latest episode features my favourite marmite by way of Nigella’s spaghetti recipe. As soon as I read it, I was like “I have got to make that”.”

“Which brings me to my second thank you of the night, my sister who had first told me about Nigella’s Spaghetti with Marmite. At that time as well, I was like “oh, I must make that” and had even bookmarked the page from Nigella’s website but never got around to it till I read Teagan’s latest episode.”

“Teagan and my sister, without you both, this post may not have come so thank you.”

MarmiteYes, yes, I am prepping you for the forthcoming Oscars and speeches galore :-). So now I stop my speech and I get off my faux Oscar stage to tell you about one of THE most easiest, THE most delicious and THE most memorable spaghetti dinners I have ever cooked (seriously, thanks to Teagan and my sister).

I am really and truly kicking myself as to why I did not make this any sooner

I know that marmite is one of those foods which those who have eaten either love of hate. I belong to the love camp as you can see by the industrial size marmite jar I have in my kitchen!

but I am pretty sure that even those who are not marmite-converts would like this spaghetti

As you can see by the photo, I have improvised Nigella’s recipe which is simply spaghetti, butter and marmite.

Yesterday, I had a pretty long and hectic day with no time for lunch and, therefore, I wanted to add some vegetables to the spaghetti to make the dinner more balanced and nutritious. I decided to pair the original recipe with mushrooms and green peas as I felt that they would work well with marmite. Also, I was out of spaghetti so used linguine (same thing to my mind although some purists may disagree). And the experiment totally worked.

So here’s my kooky version of Nigella’s Spaghetti with Marmite.

Ingredients

70-85 Grams dry spaghetti or linguine

200 Grams mushrooms

1/2 Cup green peas

1 Onion

2 Fresh red chillies

1 Tablespoon marmite

1 Tablespoon olive oil

Salt to taste

Freshly grated Parmesan (1 tablespoon to cook and some extra to serve)

Method

  1. Boil the spaghetti/linguine according to instructions on the packet. Drain and set aside.
  2. Also set aside about half cup of water from the drained spaghetti, you will need it later.
  3. Wash/wipe and slice the mushroom.
  4. Peel, wash and slice the onion.
  5. Wash the green peas.
  6. Wash and finely slice the red chilli.
  7. Dilute marmite in the half cup reserved water.
  8. Add the olive oil, sliced onion, chill and a pinch of salt in a wide based pan.
  9. Put the pan on low heat, cover and let the onions cook for 5 to 7 minutes.
  10. Uncover, throw in the peas, cover and cook for 5 minutes.
  11. Uncover, add the mushroom and marmite mixed with water. Stir, cover and cook for about 5 minutes.
  12. Uncover, add the boiled spaghetti/linguine and 1 tablespoon of Parmesan cheese. Mix well, check for salt, add more if needed, cover and cook for 3 to 4 minutes.
  13. Transfer to a pasta bowl and eat hot with a generous sprinkling of Parmesan.

heavenly with a glass of full bodied red wine

3 thoughts on “Marmite Spaghetti, The Kooky Way”

  1. Ishita, you are so very kind. Thank you for mentioning my blog and the serial. I’m honored. I hope you’ll come back and leave “3 ingredients” for the story. 🙂
    Here’s a “teaser” — Episode-9 will reveal the identity of the victim from the first episode.

    I like the vegetables you added to the recipe. [I usually add veggies whenever I make pasta too.]
    I enjoy your blog very much. Keep up the good work — and the good food.

    1. Thank you so much for your comments Teagan. If you ever get hold of a jar of marmite, hope you try this :-).

      I have an ingredient in mind so am going to hop over and post my suggestion.

      Thank you once again :-).

Leave a Reply

