Carrot & Semolina Pudding

Carrot and Semolina Pudding

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Cooking a dessert hardly ever enters my mind. If you were to come around to my house for dinner, your meal would probably be rounded off with some shop bought sweet. I can actually write on the back of a teeny envelope the number of times I have made a confection.

This is partly because I am not a sweet person (!) and partly because I don’t have enough experience in making sweet somethings and so lack the confidence. If faced with a recipe disaster for a savoury item, I would know how to rescue it but with a dessert, I would be clueless.

so why am I writing about this pudding, you ask

Three factors brought about the invention of this pudding: (1) My friend Meher is very fond of all things sweet. (2) She had invited me to spend the day with her yesterday and I had a couple of containers of hers from my previous visit which I wanted to return but I didn’t want to give back empty. (3) Carrots are in season.

Meher, her husband and son are more like family so I knew that they wouldn’t mind being testers for my experiment.

Was it a success? Totally, I am pleased to write. They all absolutely loved this pudding :-). Meher’s son, who is a fussy eater, polished it off and her husband has asked me to make it again. This has given me the confidence to make more desserts in the future (for others, of course!).

And for those who regularly follow this blog, yes yesterday was my soup day and yes Meher had very kindly made chicken soup for me :-).

So, let’s get cracking with this without-any-cream-creamy pudding.

Ingredients

250 Grams carrots, finely grated

1/2 Cup semolina

300 Ml milk

1/2 Cup sugar

1 Tablespoon unsalted butter or ghee

2 Tablespoons raisins

2 Tablespoons unsalted pistachio, halved

Seeds from 6-8 green cardamoms

A pinch of cinnamon powder

A pinch of saffron

Method

  1. Heat the butter or ghee in a skillet.
  2. Once it starts foaming a bit, add the raisins and pistachios.
  3. Lower the heat and stir around for a couple of minutes till the raisins turn lusciously plump and the pistachios start browning a bit.
  4. Next, add the semolina and once again stir for a few minutes till the semolina feels nicely toasted.
  5. Add the carrots, sugar and milk and combine well.
  6. Add the cinnamon powder, cardamom seeds and saffron, give it a good stir, cover and let this cook for about 20-25 minutes.
  7. Check in between to make sure that it is not sticking to the bottom of the pan.
  8. You will know that the pudding is cooked when it starts solidifying.
  9. Take off the heat and transfer to a serving bowl.

Note:

  1. I used a mixture of Demerara and white sugar. You can use just white if you prefer.
  2. Factoring in the natural sweetness of carrots, I used half a cup of sugar. You can use more if you like your pudding to be sweeter.
  3. This pudding can be served hot or cold.
  4. To serve it cold, lightly grease a container before transferring the pudding to it (from step 9). Unmould before serving.

 

Leave a Reply

