Amaranth Seed Fritters/Amaranth Seed Cutlets/Amaranth Seed Burger

Amaranth Seeds Fritters

Amaranth is a versatile genus whose leaves, seeds and plants are used for various purpose. Go here if you would like more information on its properties and health benefits.

I had a packet of Himalayan amaranth seeds lying around in my kitchen cupboard and didn’t know how to use them.

note to sellers: please provide instructions or recipe on the packaging!

Did a bit of research on the internet and settled upon this recipe. I had to slightly modify it but the end result was still delicious. The fritters are soft on the inside with a nice crunchy texture on the outside.

Ingredients

1 cup amaranth seeds

2 cups water

2 boiled potatoes

1 cup shelled peas

One small bunch fresh coriander

2-3 green chillies (or to taste)

5-6 cashew nuts

A handful of quick cooking oats

Salt to taste

1-2 teaspoon oil

Method

  1. Firstly, you need to cook the amaranth seeds and peas. For this, boil water and add a stock cube if you have one handy (I used a vegetable one which gave it a nice aroma). Once the water has boiled, add the amaranth seeds and peas. Cover and cook for 20 minutes. The ratio of water to seeds should be 2:1. Here, I boiled two cups of water to which one cup of amaranth seeds were added.
  2. At the end of 20 minutes, the seeds should be cooked. In my case, the mixture was not completely dry. It had paste-like consistency so I added a handful of instant oats, switched off the gas and let it sit, covered, for half hour. I am glad I did this as the oats absorbed any excess moisture and given how healthy oats are, I think I will add them in the future as well.
  3. While the seeds are cooling, take out a chopper or a food processor and finely chop the cashew nuts, coriander and chillies (no water, you don’t want a paste). The original recipe calls for peanuts which I didn’t have so I substituted with cashews.
  4. Mash the potatoes.
  5. Once the seeds are cool enough to handle, add the coriander, cashews, chillies from the chopper along with mashed potatoes and salt to taste.
  6. Shape them into fritters. At this stage, I had refrigerated them for a few hours to harden them a bit.
  7. When you are ready to eat,  heat a spoonful of oil in a pan and cook the fritters for 10-15 minutes each side on low heat. They are very delicate so please do not touch them till you are sure the under side is browned. In my case, this was 15 minutes. The cooking time will vary depending on your burner.

serve with ketchup, chutney or hot sauce and green salad

I am so glad that I finally got the courage to try out amaranth seeds. I have fallen in love with them and look forward to more experiments.

5 thoughts on “Amaranth Seed Fritters/Amaranth Seed Cutlets/Amaranth Seed Burger”

Leave a Reply

